Apache will not start without network connection on Gentoo Linux

After an update of openrc, the apache2 server on my laptop refused to start without a network connection.  Even if the network was up, but hadn’t obtained an ip address, the service wouldn’t start.

The reason I want Apache to run any time is that I use Mediawiki to make notes and I’d like to be able to do so also when I’m e.g. travelling.  Whenever I tried to start apache, I got the message

* WARNING: apache2 is scheduled to start when net.eth0, net.wlan0 has started

The solution is to comment out the lines “need net” and “after sshd” in the section depend() in the file /etc/init.d/apache2 and all is well.

This should work for any other service, e.g. sshd, but since I currently have no use for running an ssh server without a network connection, I didn’t try 😉

This entry was posted in All, Software and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apache will not start without network connection on Gentoo Linux

  1. Stefan says:

    Google forwarded me to your page and following page in the second place. This might fix our problem via usual configuration methods:
    http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-830291-start-0.html

Leave a Reply

